Not signed in (Sign In)

Not signed in

Want to take part in these discussions? Sign in if you have an account, or apply for one below

• Sign in using OpenID

Discussion Tag Cloud

Vanilla 1.1.10 is a product of Lussumo. More Information: Documentation, Community Support.

Welcome to nForum
If you want to take part in these discussions either sign in now (if you have an account), apply for one now (if you don't).
  1. Hello Everyone,

I’m an undergraduate computer science major and I’m working on developing a higher categorical database for the nLab for my senior project. I would like to start collecting properties that a category may or may not have. Such as

concrete (equipped with a forgetful functor to Set) versus non-concrete

locally representable versus not locally representable

and have a rudimentary database functionality where one could enter a category name and mark which of these properties it has, which it does not have. Once the properties have been selected, all categories with those properties can be displayed, or those properties can be filled in by an nLab user for a particular category. The interface may look like the list of all categories, where one can select properties with a checkbox list or perhaps a multiple select list. So I’m asking everyone who cares to contribute, what categorical properties do you want to see in a database of categories? Thanks!

• CommentRowNumber2.
    • CommentAuthorMike Shulman
    • CommentTimeFeb 12th 2011

Wouldn’t it be better to have an interface where nLab users can add their own properties? Undoubtedly new properties will continue to pop up as important and interesting as time goes by.

Also, what does “locally representable” mean?

2. “Wouldn’t it be better to have an interface where nLab users can add their own properties? Undoubtedly new properties will continue to pop up as important and interesting as time goes by.”