Not signed in (Sign In)

Not signed in

Want to take part in these discussions? Sign in if you have an account, or apply for one below

• Sign in using OpenID

Discussion Tag Cloud

Vanilla 1.1.10 is a product of Lussumo. More Information: Documentation, Community Support.

Welcome to nForum
If you want to take part in these discussions either sign in now (if you have an account), apply for one now (if you don't).
    • CommentRowNumber1.
    • CommentAuthortret3jtt
    • CommentTimeNov 18th 2016
    • (edited Nov 18th 2016)
    Good morning, day or evening to you, people of nForum! I hope that this question is appropriate for the forum. Of course, we also have mathoverflow, but I think here I will get a more qualified answer.

I'm a student of mathematics interesting in learning "higher" mathematics, in particular, homotopical algebra in its reincarnations as model category theory, simplicial category theory, infinity-category theory and then higher algebra (as in Lurie's book "Higher Algebra").
    The subject of homotopical algebra is vast nowadays, as I can see it, we have many long (800-1000 pages) books on a different topics of it. The ones I came across are:

1)Abstract and simplicial homotopy theory (model categories and simplicial sets, that is, the prerequisites for "higher" mathematics):

- E. Riehl "Categorical Homotopy Theory" (as I understand, it's not a very long book that gives a general picture for seemingly diverse areas of homotopy theory, but E. Riehl says that it's better to have an acquaintance with simplicial sets, model categories and quasicategories before reading that book, but it's not a strict prerequisite; I'm not sure if it means whether the exposition is concise or something else)

- Z. L. Low "Notes on homotopical algebra (very long summary of definitions of result, but for proofs the author refers to other books or articles, 1000 pages long)