Not signed in (Sign In)

Not signed in

Want to take part in these discussions? Sign in if you have an account, or apply for one below

• Sign in using OpenID

Discussion Tag Cloud

Vanilla 1.1.10 is a product of Lussumo. More Information: Documentation, Community Support.

Welcome to nForum
If you want to take part in these discussions either sign in now (if you have an account), apply for one now (if you don't).
    • CommentRowNumber1.
    • CommentAuthorsure
    • CommentTimeMar 22nd 2014
    • (edited Mar 22nd 2014)
    Hi,

I'm a physics student who is really interested about foundational questions in physics. Obviously, studying foundations requires some philosophical (if not metaphysical) motivations and beliefs. I believe that physics is mainly algebraic (in the sense that it is relational: the object doesn't matter, only its relations with what surrounds it does), and that it is both non realist (quantum mechanics says so if you believe in locality) and requires the presence of an observer to make sense (relativity + QM). This is why, I started to study category theory. Yet, while studying the rudiments of CT through awodey's book, I noticed that some people (Urs Schreiber for example) were also studying foundational issues through higher category theory.

I read the motivations of Urs Schreiber's big paper "Differential cohomology in a cohesive topos" in this respect, and even though I also think that the axiomatization of physics is a necessity, I'm not at all convinced that such approach fits what "physics" is. Let me explain.