Not signed in (Sign In)

Not signed in

Want to take part in these discussions? Sign in if you have an account, or apply for one below

• Sign in using OpenID

Discussion Tag Cloud

Vanilla 1.1.10 is a product of Lussumo. More Information: Documentation, Community Support.

Welcome to nForum
If you want to take part in these discussions either sign in now (if you have an account), apply for one now (if you don't).
    • CommentRowNumber1.
    • CommentAuthorxelxebar
    • CommentTimeNov 26th 2010

Hello,

This is my first post here at nForum, and I’m a bit unsure whether my question is appropriate here, so please let me know if it should be moved or deleted. However, I’m just beginning to study Category Theory on my own, using Adamek, Herrlich and Strecker’s “Abstract and Concrete Categories”. I’m having a bit of a stumbling block with one of the exercises and would like to discuss it with someone.

The exercise just asks to show that SetSet *Set \ncong Set_* where Set *Set_* is the category of pointed sets and \cong is equivalence of categories. Could somebody provide me with a little direction? I’d rather work from a hint than receive an answer, but I know that’s sometimes difficult for these elementary problems.

• CommentRowNumber2.
    • CommentAuthorDavidRoberts

Think about the ’obvious’ functor Set *SetSet_* \to Set, and see if it satisfies the criteria for a functor to be an equivalence of categories. I would link to equivalence of categories, but it takes a very sophisticated, n-categorical look at the concept, so I don’t recommend it.

• CommentRowNumber3.
    • CommentAuthorUrs

but it takes a very sophisticated, n-categorical look

I’d say what makes this entry look sophisticated is not its nn-categorical attitude, but that it pays so much attention to the axiom of choice.

I don’t recommend it.

Hopefully then somebody finds the time to improve it!

• CommentRowNumber4.
    • CommentAuthorUrs

Hopefully then somebody finds the time to improve it!