Not signed in (Sign In)

Not signed in

Want to take part in these discussions? Sign in if you have an account, or apply for one below

• Sign in using OpenID

Discussion Tag Cloud

Vanilla 1.1.10 is a product of Lussumo. More Information: Documentation, Community Support.

Welcome to nForum
If you want to take part in these discussions either sign in now (if you have an account), apply for one now (if you don't).
    • CommentRowNumber1.
    • CommentAuthorjim_stasheff
    • CommentTimeFeb 15th 2012
    Has anyone commented already of Ellerman's Adjoint functors and heteromorphisms?
    or other papers about them?
    • CommentRowNumber2.
    • CommentAuthorKevin Watkins
    • CommentTimeFeb 15th 2012

My intuition is that heteromorphisms (or elements of profunctors, I guess… I’m not an expert) will be important in the syntax of homotopy type theory.

For example, if Πx:A.B(x)\Pi x:A. B(x) is a dependent product type, and ff is a function of this type, and pp is a path from a 1a_1 to a 2a_2 in AA, then f(p)f(p) is best thought of as a heteropath from f(a 1)f(a_1) to f(a 2)f(a_2). This heteropath is an element of the profunctor B(p)B(p) from B(a 1)B(a_1) to B(a 2)B(a_2).

Likewise, if Σx:A.B(x)\Sigma x:A. B(x) is a dependent sum type, and pp is a path from (a 1,b 1)(a_1, b_1) to (a 2,b 2)(a_2, b_2) in Σx:A.B(x)\Sigma x:A. B(x), then π 1(p)\pi_1(p) is a path from a 1a_1 to a 2a_2 in AA, and π 2(p)\pi_2(p) is a heteropath from b 1b_1 to b 2b_2 in the profunctor B(p)B(p) from B(a 1)B(a_1) to B(a 2)B(a_2).

The profunctors that arise would have the special property that they would be representable as functors in both directions. For example B(p)B(p) is representable as a function from B(a 1)B(a_1) to B(a 2)B(a_2), and corepresentable as a function from B(a 2)B(a_2) to B(a 1)B(a_1). For the purposes of homotopy type theory, it might make sense to define an equivalence of types to be such a profunctor. This would seem to be a more symmetrical formulation than Voevodsky’s.