Not signed in (Sign In)

Not signed in

Want to take part in these discussions? Sign in if you have an account, or apply for one below

• Sign in using OpenID

Discussion Tag Cloud

Vanilla 1.1.10 is a product of Lussumo. More Information: Documentation, Community Support.

Welcome to nForum
If you want to take part in these discussions either sign in now (if you have an account), apply for one now (if you don't).
    • CommentRowNumber1.
    • CommentAuthorJon Beardsley
    • CommentTimeSep 6th 2012

Just wondering if there are relatively simple reasons why good computational qualities, like decidable type and equality checking, fail in extensional type theory. I’m just beginning to read some of this homotopy type theory stuff, but am relatively familiar with at least the bare bones of type theory. Is there some intuitive reason behind this, or is it sort of a technical result?

• CommentRowNumber2.
    • CommentAuthorTodd_Trimble

I’d like to understand this better myself, as I think it might have something to do with psychological hangups I’m having with the incomplete project on predicate logic on my web. Any relevant (free, online) references might be a big help, if anyone knows of some.

• CommentRowNumber3.
    • CommentAuthorUlrik

First of all, in type theory, judgmental equality is the congruence and equivalence closure of reduction, so decidable type checking requires terminating reduction.

Now, it’s quite easy to see that extensional equality (the rule that from p:(a=b)p:(a=b) infers aba\equiv b) gives non-terminating reduction, as follows:

In a context that includes D:Type,p:(D=DD)D:\mathrm{Type}, p:(D = D \to D), you can type the usual fixed point combinator of λ\lambda-calculus, and thus all untyped λ\lambda-terms. Now take a non-terminating λ\lambda-term.

Unfortunately, I don’t know of a good reference on this point.

• CommentRowNumber4.
    • CommentAuthorMike Shulman

The way I think about it is that