Not signed in (Sign In)

Not signed in

Want to take part in these discussions? Sign in if you have an account, or apply for one below

• Sign in using OpenID

Discussion Tag Cloud

Vanilla 1.1.10 is a product of Lussumo. More Information: Documentation, Community Support.

Welcome to nForum
If you want to take part in these discussions either sign in now (if you have an account), apply for one now (if you don't).
    • CommentRowNumber1.
    • CommentAuthorUrs
    • CommentTimeJan 7th 2014
    • (edited Jan 7th 2014)

created an entry category of being, for completeness.

A general remark: people often write that, unfortunately or not, Eilenberg-MacLane’s term “category” is not that of, say, Kant. But in fact if read this way here, following Lawvere, then the former is a good formalization of the latter, after all.

• CommentRowNumber2.
    • CommentAuthorDean
    • CommentTimeMar 1st 2020
    • (edited Mar 2nd 2020)
    Hi, I am a bit new to this, but @David Corfield can probably answer this. Can someone explain to me:

1) Emptyset is interpreted as nothing and singleton as pure being. What are the rest of the objects interpreted as in Hegel's philosophy? Is it that objects are entities and a : y means "a is a y"? If so, perhaps "a : x alows us to judge a : y" means "an x is a y"?

2) What are the morphisms in this category supposed to be interpreted as? There is a table here, but I don't see morphisms on it: https://ncatlab.org/nlab/show/Science+of+Logic#FormalizationDictionary

3) How is the idea that pure being and nothing are the same to be interpreted in categorical language?

For (3), recall Hegel's Science of Logic, 132, 133, 134: