Not signed in (Sign In)

Not signed in

Want to take part in these discussions? Sign in if you have an account, or apply for one below

• Sign in using OpenID

Discussion Tag Cloud

Vanilla 1.1.10 is a product of Lussumo. More Information: Documentation, Community Support.

Welcome to nForum
If you want to take part in these discussions either sign in now (if you have an account), apply for one now (if you don't).
    • CommentRowNumber1.
    • CommentAuthorWillemMali
    • CommentTimeAug 4th 2017
    I'm sorry for barging in on your forum as a relative newbie to mathematics. I'm looking for learning resources, I put a tl;dr at the bottom.

I'm a programmer by trade and have recently acquired the urge to build a solid formal foundation for structuring the data I collect, which includes news articles, books, scientific papers, research datasets and much more. To get closer to this goal I am going to develop a semantic database with the purpose of representing any and all human knowledge formally. (Good starter project, no?)

I've come to the conclusion that if I am to structure the very wide range of knowledge I want to represent, I will not only have to use mature NLP techniques (for acquiring the set of all possible interpretations) in combination with either human aid or statistical/ML techniques for disambiguation, I will then have to find a mathematical foundation that is able to represent all of mathematics, because I anticipate needing a lot of mathematics to get at all close to being able to represent all human knowledge formally and also because I think having most if not all the mechanics behind the system be represented inside the system will be the only way to make it flexible enough to get close to representing all human knowledge including all knowledge from all sciences.